top of page

My own #szechuensauce

Growing up in the 90s as an Asian-australian was a bit tricky, thanks to the hate waves generated by a certain politician in 98; in the same year a gong heavy commercial aired for the Macca's Mulan Szechuan nugget sauce, the only thing I could've think of to say was "not happy Jan!"

Fast forward 19 years later, I feel lucky that I'm not in the United states. Otherwise I'd be screwed by the same sauce as a Rick and Morty fan.

So I've been cooking during my gap year, why not sharing my own take of the Szechuan sauce? Taking ownership of that bad memory?

The ingredients:

  • 5+ cloves of Garlic, minced or sliced

  • 3 tablespoons Balsamic Vinegar

  • 1 tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar (option: Balsamic vinegar or dark Chinese vinegar)

  • 1/2 tablespoon Soy Sauce (optional)

  • 1 tablespoon Cooking Sake (cooking white wine is acceptable)

  • 2 teaspoons Rock Sugar (I like the ones from Chinese or Persian shops, great fo tea and coffee too)

  • 1 Apple and 2 Nectarines (options: plum, prune or peach)

  • 2 Star Ainse

  • 5 Bayleaves

  • 5 Shitake Mushrooms, diced

  • 4 Birdseye Chilli, diced

  • 1 tablespoon Ginger, diced

  • 2 cups of Water

This serves about 50 nuggets or as noodle stir fry sauce for 4 people; and here's the disaster video of me making it. Btw i stammered like Rick

RECENT POST
JOIN MY MAILING LIST
bottom of page